1. Home

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://homerenovations.about.com/u/r/od/hardwoodfloor/fr/bellawoodreview.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

Bellawood Wood Flooring Review

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Sorry folks, no negative review here.April 21, 2013 By yolandasdaughter
Last summer, I replaced our kitchen floor which was a laminate product with Bellawood Brazilian Cherry hardwood. I love it! Yes I have a scratch or two, as with all hardwoods, but it is barely noticeable. The color and the sheen are absolutely beautiful. It cleans so easily, I use only the Bellawood Floor Cleaner products. I make sure that my furniture has the felt protective pads. My kitchen has tons of traffic, I do not ask my guests to take off their shoes, and I have a dog. The laminate that I had before had so many knick, scratches, and separations, I hated it. The reason I chose Bellawood was because of my oldest daughter, who was with me at Lumber Liquidators, said ""Mom, you live only once, get the best!"" I have never been disappointed with their customer service, they are very helpful, professional, and knowledgable. The installer was neat, on time, and completed the project beautifully. And as of today, I just had Bellawood Brazilian Cherry installed in my living room and hallway. My husband and I are so pleased, eventually our bedrooms will also be updated with BBC.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
What MessMarch 20, 2013 By tubamom
I begged my husband to put down hardwood floors for about 8 years. We decided to do this before Thanksgiving 2012 and went to Lumber Liquidators to pick out the flooring. We got Brazilian Cherry. My husband did a fabulous job installing it. We immediately noticed every little footprint on the floor. Wearing socks did not help. We called LL and asked how to clean up the footprints and were told to use their cleaning product. We have the proper mop and have tried endlessly to get this wood to shine and not be covered in marks. For what I paid for this wood, I would rather have my disgusting carpet back. Any suggestions on how to get this floor clean. We do not eat in the dining room, so no food is spilled. Footprints and even kitty paw prints are the issue.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Indents in the floor from chairsFebruary 21, 2013 By forjoevee
Less than a year ago we installed a Bellawood Rustic Oak Floor following all the instructions. It is a beatiful floor but the first time we had company we noticed that after a person sat on the wood chair it left a depression in the floor. We complained to Lumber Liquidators to no avail. The answer is that the wood is subject to conditions beyond their control so live with the depressions, get a carpet or put Crutch Tips on the chairs.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Bella woodJuly 21, 2012 By MissieB12
I bought red oak. I was told it was exceptionally hard and a good choice . Well, every little thing seems to dent it. The waste factor was unbelievable. I had ten boxes and almost two were flawed and unusable. I am not pleased. The floor is under six months old and already marked up.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't buy Bellawood if...March 31, 2012 By Skanlagovista
Bellawood flooring looks beautiful in the showroom. But if you have children, pets, or wear shoes indoors (and I don't mean just high heels), DON'T buy it. The only people who should buy this product are fussy types who never wear shoes indoors and insist their guests remove theirs upon entrance. It scratches VERY easily, much easier than real hardwood or laminate. With pets, it is a disaster. In addition, don't cover it with an area rug since the exposed area will darken significantly within 6 months and you will never be able to move the rug. The 100-year warranty is a joke. There are so many exclusions that you have virtually no chance of them honoring it. If you buy this product, review the fine print carefully. One of the worst decisions we ever made, a horrible product.
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Does not honor warrantyMarch 10, 2012 By Mike0510
In 2008 we made an addition to our house. We had seen the adds for Lumber Liquidators on your network and chose the Bellawood Brazilian mesquite. The installer did a superb job and the floor looked beautiful until we began moving in. Every piece of furniture we placed on the floor scratched the surface and the scratches could not be polished out. Dents and scratches began showing up in places where there was no traffic. After two years the beautiful cherry wood red stain began turning honey gold every where the sun hit the floor. Now we have a two tone floor. When I contacted Lumber Liquidators they forwarded we to Bellawood. The Bellawood representative informed me that I had to send in pictures. Apparently they do not do on site inspections. They denied any and all claims for warranty resolution. They said they were not responsible for fading or scratches. What good is a 100 year warranty if it does not cover anything? I tell all my friends to stay away from Lumber Liquidators and Bellawood products. Since our problems I have researched other reviews and found that our experience is not exceptional. Rather it seems to be rather normal. In addition when the flooring was installed we had better than 15% waste. That added significantly to the cost.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
The Mesquite wood is 1/2 as hard as Oak!March 01, 2012 By thomascisaac
Someone in our home spilled some water on the floor and the flooring quickly warped. We have installed mequite flooring in the past and it never would have warped because mesquite is much harder than oak. Much to our suprise Bellawood's mesquite is not your normal mesquite. It is mass grown in Brazil and only HALF as hard as oak! It scratches very easily and warps with just a little water. DO NOT BUY this product!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
surface defectsJanuary 14, 2012 By billbriz
I bought the Bellawood Australian Cypress in Charlotte NC after a couple of months the top where the knots are, had started to delaminate, I called Bellawood about this defect...They said I would have to pay $300.00 for someone to inspect it. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Really??August 13, 2011 By KC10Mech
Just installed an Ash floor myself over a plywood sub floor in a house with a crawl space.. So far so good.. Yeah.. Had a few funky boards in a mixed width floor layout but it was easy to work around. Ash is harder than Red Oak -- The so - called standard in hardness of domestic hardwoods.. To those installing so called exotic hardwoods do some research on hardness, moisture absorption and suitability to where it is being used.. Don't just take LL advice.. The satin finish on the ash is excellent and perfect for my ambient lighting. There is no need to deforest a rain forest to obtain an exotic floor.. There are plenty of beautiful domestic species sustainably harvested in North America. LL should use products produced under NSF guidelines.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Lumber Liquidators/Bellawood the Ultimate con jobApril 30, 2011 By 62adrop
Shop elsewhere if you don't want to learn the hard way like I did. After years of watching our nasty green carpet deteriorate, my wife and I decided we needed to upgrade our look two years ago. At the time, we were budget strapped and decided to go with Lumber Liquidators based on their price points, figuring hardwood is hardwood and as long as you follow the guidelines you should be fine. I decided against laminate wood because we live in upper-middle class neighborhood and when we sold, laminate would be a negative. Lets just say, ALL laminate is better than Bellawood hardwood products, and considering what Bellawood charges, either go somewhere else, or buy laminate from a more reputable dealer than Bellawood front men. We live in Florida, where heat & moisture are prevalent 9 months of the year. When we were shopping, I was ready to buy a Lumber Liquidators low end engineered hardwood product. My wife unfortunately fell in love with the Brazilian Walnut hardwood by Bella sold at Lumber Liquidators. I asked about the influence of heat & moisture on the product and was reassured by the salesman that as long as I followed the instructions, the wood would hold up. Within 1 month, many pieces started cupping. Some points started to buckle up but not too bad - last month (Mar 2011) two sections buckled to the point where there was a change of ~3"" between the parts remaining level and the tops of the buckle points. In frustration, I called out a professional installer and he said his company does not use non-engineered hardwood unless the owners are adamant, and are willing to pay for the subfloor and other work required for Hardwood in Florida. As he was removing my floor, he confirmed I followed Lumber Liquidators guidelines, and was shocked when he removed different sections that shredded off like coconuts husks (see picture). I was hoping the floor would be good for at least ten years, now I'm confident we will be replacing all of this ""great product"" over the next two years. If you read this and buy Bellawood or do business with Lumber Liquidators, you are a bigger idiot than I.
39 of 43 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
15% waste???February 04, 2011 By us2670
Cabin and tavern grade wood may need a 15% waste factor. I just ask why you would want to buy wood to burn? unless you have money to burn. Spend a few extra dollors for a select wood and stay with the typical 5 to 10% max waste for your hardwood job.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
bolivian rosewoodNovember 07, 2010 By mark2732
We installed lumber liquidators, bellawood bolivian rosewood over a concrete floor using lumber liquidators instructions and products, in 2 mos. the floor buckled and warped badly, they not only would not stand behind it, they denied telling us we could install it over concrete, i called back and have them on tape telling us we could over concrete using their products,unfortunately, we can not use that tape in court, we ended up removing the wood, having a $8000.00 fire to dispose of it and installed Anderson pre finished flooring, this was 4 years ago and the Anderson floor has held up wonderful.I suggest to stay far away from lumber liquidators, they lie.
21 of 24 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
BellawoodSeptember 01, 2010 By claferty
I had a light oak Bellawood installed in the kitchen and a sunroom about 5 years ago. It is still absolutely beautiful. We have a large golden retriever and a husband that never takes his shoes off and I cannot see any scratches or damage to the floor. So, I am not sure what everyone is talking about. Unless the product is different now. I am very satisfied with it.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Floor on the Market!August 26, 2010 By fdl
We spent $8000.00 on Bellawood and had it professionally installed through Lumber Liquidators. I questioned the LL about having a dog if the floors would scratch and was told absolutely not - they are hardwood - yeah right!! It wasn't even 24 hours and the floors were scratched by the dog only walking on them and he has his nails clipped. They didn't tell us that you cannot place any throw rugs down for about a year and that you have to rotate your furniture so that the wood cures properly for the first year. I was told all of this after I called to file a complaint. This is insane - my husband is disabled and I can't afford to pay someone to rotate my furniture! I bought a case of the floor cleaner and that stuff is a joke - it makes the floor like glass and already 2 people have slipped on the stairs! The bottles even leak and the sprayers don't work properly! I strongly recommend never to purchase this product - we have had laminate flooring and it is totally durable and cost a lot less. I asked the company if they could please tell me anything good about this flooring other than it is pretty to look at! Bottom line is that it scratches with a simple touch, shows every mark, do not walk on it with shoes and is not worth a penny as far as I am concerned! I should have listened to my husband and carpeted the floors! I am now having to carpet the Bellawood stairs to prevent anyone from slipping or falling and to hide all of the scratches! The floor was installed less than 4 weeks ago!
17 of 21 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Brazilian REDWOOD From Lumbar LiquidatorsJune 20, 2010 By minervajdaniel
I purchased Brazilian redwood on 12/15/10 from Lumbar Liquidator in Greenbelt, Md. It was installed by a contractor working in the store on 12/22/10. The floor started splitting and cupping only after a couple of weeks. LL stated that its not under warrenty. Don't buy this product or use LL THEY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR MERCHANDISE.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Scratches EasilyApril 24, 2010 By Lisaazz
Last year, 2009, we installed over 1000 square feet of Bellawood Brazilian Cherry Select prefinished flooring. The sales rep at Lumber Liquidators directed us toward the hardest woods available since we have a labrador retriever. This flooring is so soft and easily scratched that it looks 10 years old already. Almost every inch of it is scratched. I would have never purchased this flooring if I had known this ahead of time. I have contacted Bellawood and Lumber Liquidators but have received no response.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Do not get Prefinished HardwoodMarch 15, 2010 By omahawildcat
Bellawood does not seal the ends of the boards so any moisture that gets in the joint will cause the finish to expand and peel off. It doesn't take much moisture and it doesn't matter if you wipe it up right away if the moisture lands right on the joint.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
$8000 mistake!!Bellawood Brazilian RosewoodJanuary 20, 2010 By soldanother
I am so upset by this flooring that I am looking into ripping it out after less than three years. I wish I had not done all of my downstairs in this product. It has a poor finish and we did have alot of gap issues. We purchased the best quality that they offered and it has so many different colors that it appears to be several different types of wood most of which do not look like the rosewood sample we had selected from. I also waited more than 8 months to have the order filled. My installer has shared that he and other installers have begun to charge extra for Bellawood as well as other products that come from lumber liquidators due to all of the above stated issues. If you can, stay clear of Lumber Liquidators and save yourself the heartache!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Take it from a licensed floor guy.January 19, 2010 By woodfloorsrus
I urge anyone and everyone to think long and hard before sinking thier money into this product. In the beginning, it was a decent product. The material is being produced too quickly and thrown out into the market. I know of at least 10 consumers who had the product installed correctly and shortly after, the material starts to buckle and warp. Lumber Liquidators passes the buck, I have not heard of 1 situation where Lumber Liquidators, Home Service Store (the authorized installation referral network LL offers) or Bellawood backed thier product. STAY AWAY FROM BELLAWOOD.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Bellawood Select Red Oak FlooringJanuary 13, 2010 By BobNY15
I installed close to a 1000 sf of the Bellawood Select red oak, 3 1/4 by 3/8 about 9 years ago. I installed this myself on top of a raised sub floor and nailed it in. The floor has held up very well. I have a big dog, German Shepard, and it has held up well with him, very few scratches on the flooring. All the pieces in the boxes were used and I had very little waste left over. I would recommend this flooring to others.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stay awayDecember 10, 2009 By Riverfly
Purchased 5/8 x 3"" Brazilian Cherry for the living room and hallway. When finished it was a nice looking floor. Installation was a pain. The boards are very short, the tongue and groove is at differing depths so you are sorting boards to find the ones with the same depth. You need to buy about 20% extra to cover the boards that are cracked and finshed poorly. The finish was mostly good but the poly looks like it was rolled on with a wood textured roller. This gives it a bit of a Pergo look. The installation was done by a 25 year pro and we experienced the cupping that was mentioned in another review. Basically, all the boards are warping and will have to be sanded down and refinished. This was not a cheap floor and now I have the additional expense of having it refinished ($4000). I also bought from Lumber Liquidators and did not receive much help on the local or regional level
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
looks nice but.....October 27, 2009 By margomo
We purchased Bellawood flooring, Brazillian Chestnut, for our living and dining room. Installation was a hassel as the boards were of different thickness and widths making is difficult to align them. We had to separate 20 boxes of flooring into piles based on size. Now after only a few months we notice numerous dents and scratches in the flooring with no reasonable explanation as to how they got there. There are no children living in our house and only 2 cats who are declawed. Even when our Grandsons visit we make sure they only have toys that have no metal to scratch the flooring but still notice dents and scratches. We paid extra to get a quality wood flooring and even though it looks nice we will never buy Bellawood flooring again nor will be recommend it to anyone. Why spend more if it doesn't provide any better quality than the lower priced hardwood floors? We did contact Bellawood's customer service and they essentially blew us off. VERY DISSATISFIED!
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Poor FinishOctober 13, 2009 By JNorty
I purchased 1000 sq. ft. of pre-finished Brazilian Cherry. When I got a good look at it in the boxes at home, I realized it had a poor finish. It looked like it needed a sanding and another coat of polyurethane. Also, many of the pieces did not fit well, leaving raised ridges where the boards meet.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Bellawood prefinished hardwood floorsAugust 23, 2009 By palmettohardwood
Bellawood is just one product. To me it is overrated because that is all you hear about. They are a very large company that can afford to advertise and so they do. The more they adversite the more they sell. It is not saying they have great product but they do have great marketing. My recommendation is to ask for references from local companies and installers. I would ask around before I buy a product. Dyuane
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Big Disappointment Red Oak Bellawood FloringAugust 02, 2009 By kbozzo
In March of 2008 we purchased 760 sq. feet of 3/8 x 3 Select Red Oak Bellawood flooring from Lumber Liquidators had it installed by Ogle's who were recommended by LL and by June 2008 every room had severe cupping as described by All Flooring Inspections, a company hired by Lumber Liquidators. Although Bellawood claims to have a 50 year warranty our claim has been disregarded by Lumber Liquidators. I would never recommend buying this product or doing business with Lumber Liquidators.
114 of 114 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bellawood Brazilian Teak FlooringApril 16, 2009 By Bronderclan
We had this installed in our family room for my daughters wedding. We took all the precautions of felt feet on furniture and everything. It is a beautiful looking floor, but It shows every little scratch and mark. Not sure if the wood/finish is too hard, but is not very durable. I would not recommend this for any use.
61 of 67 people found this review helpful.